In a year full of change, Wine Growers British Columbia (WGBC) held its virtual Annual General Meeting on September 1, 2021, welcoming a new board of directors.

“This year was certainly one of the most extraordinary years that we have endured, and we appreciate the time commitment and dedication of our volunteer directors and committee members,” says CEO Miles Prodan.

“The innovation, collaboration, and resiliency we have seen across the industry has been truly exceptional. We look forward to working with our new board members and continuing Board members to evolve and adapt to our new reality and work together to achieve lasting and meaningful results for the continued success of the BC wine industry.”

Nine voting WGBC Directors represent all British Columbia wineries. Newly elected or re-elected members of the Board of Directors are:

  • Josh Stewart Vice-Chair (Arterra Wines Canada)
  • Samantha Collins (Mission Hill Family Estate Winery, Mark Anthony Group)
  • Paul Sawler (Dirty Laundry Vineyard)
  • Erin Korpisto (Stag’s Hollow Winery)

Continuing their directorships are, newly appointed Chair, Christa-Lee McWatters (TIME Winery, Five Vines Cellars), Charlie Baessler (Corcelettes Estate Winery), Greg Berti (Andrew Peller), Leo Gebert (St. Hubertus & Oak Bay Winery) and Dapinder Gill (Kismet Estate Winery). BC Grapegrowers’ Association representative Felix Egerer and WGBC President & CEO Miles Prodan continue as ex officio non-voting members.

WGBC would also like to thank outgoing Chair Erik Fisher (Monte Creek Ranch Winery) for his contributions to the Board during his term.

New chair

Christa-Lee McWatters (TIME Winery, Five Vines Cellars) takes the reins as chair of the Board of Directors for the Wine Growers British Columbia (WGBC).